Sucker Punch: From The Perspective Of An Alchemist

By Sage Harber

The following is only a brief overview of the steps the main character takes on her alchemical journey. If you haven't seen this movie, or wonder about the allegory/symbolism, take another look. You might find something I missed and/or left out. Happy Learning! :)

"Everyone has an Angle. A guardian who watches over us. We can't know what form they'll take. One day an old man. The next day a little girl. But don't let appearances fool you. They can be as fierce as any Dragon. Yet they are not here to fight our battles, but to whisper from our heart, reminding that it's Us. It's everyone of Us that holds the Power over the World's We Create.

Step 0. STO = Service-to-Others - Unconditional Love, Acceptance, Forgiveness and the Willingness to Sacrifice Your Own Life, for Another (The Choice)
"We can deny our angels exist, convincing ourselves they can't be real. But they show up anyway, at strange places, and at strange times. They speak through any character we can imagine. They'll shout through demons if they have to, daring us, challenging us to fight."

Step 1. Lost within the matrix; (Physical Reality/Earth)
The Way of the Working Fool; Baby Doll arrives at Lennox House for the mentally insane.

Step 2. You Control Your Reality
"Where is my mind? Way out in the Water, see it slipping."
"If you do not dance, you have no purpose, and we don't keep things here with no purpose. See, your fight for survival starts right now. You don't want to be judged? You wont be. Don't think you are strong enough? You are! You are afraid? Don't be. You have all the weapons you need. Now fight!"

Step 3. Transmuting Salt, Mercury and Sulfur; The Internal Battle Begins (The First Death)
The Way of the Warrior, gathering the five items with much sacrifice.

Step 4. The Gathering of the Five Elements, Activating the Kundilini and Balancing; Everyone You Meet Helps You On The Journey, but Some Parts Must Be Transmuted
Map = Water, Fire = Fire, Knife = Wind, Key = Earth

Step 5. Balancing the Four Elements and Self Sacrifice
Ego awareness and the new creation.

Step 6. Awareness of the Masculine and Feminine Within Yourself
The Divine Marriage

Step 7. Helping Others With Unconditional Love, Acceptance and Forgiveness For The Self and Others (Final Death)
"One thing more."

Step 8. The Entire Process is Revealed in the Great Work; Beautifully Creative (The Prima Materia)
Allegory and symbolism merge into Creative Truth. The Way of the Warrior Sage, and the Journey continues.

Posted on November 8, 2013 .